top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

What's On My Desk


Today I woke up feeling like a Mack truck ran over me. I've been fighting a cold and I was up late coughing. It was chilly in the house and while I really wanted to turn the heat on I knew the chill wouldn't last long so I put on my fuzzy slippers and flannel-lined shirt instead and cozied up in my art room chair with a cup of hot tea and some YouTube art videos. By 9ish I was feeling pretty good. Good enough to think about crafting, but not good enough to clean the bathroom and kitchen which was on the agenda for today. The state of my table was a disaster. An art explosion of paper scraps, fabric bits, threads, junk mail and painted papers as far as the eye could see. Putting my art table back in order after working on projects is oddly calming for me though. Organizing and sorting, making decisions on whether the tiniest of scraps should stay or go. (They almost always stay.) Gluing things down when I felt like it. By noon, my table was clear and I had ended up with a little 4x5 junk journal made up from the scraps of paper, bits of ephemera, a file folder, doilies, labels and junk mail envelopes. I love when that happens - when I create something without even really thinking about it. Those are the things that are the very essence of me.

37 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page