top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

The Desert Minstrel


Today is the 15th anniversary of the passing of my brother John. He was eight years older than me and I can’t recall a bad memory of him. I remember him being really good at every sport he ever played, especially football. He was fast as lightning on the field. He was outgoing and never shy about his opinions, but always willing to listen and engage in friendly debate. He had a deep love for learning and questioning everything. Most of my childhood memories of him revolve around music; he was always playing his stereo full blast, singing along and jamming on his air guitar. I remember how excited he was when he bought his first real guitar. It became a part of him. It was clear that harmony surrounded him. I loved listening to him strumming his guitar and singing his songs. His voice wasn’t amazing but his emotion and passion for music shined. He left home around twenty years old to find his way in the world. His wandering spirit took him from New Jersey all the way across the country until he finally settled down in Arizona. His controversial and unorthodox beliefs unfortunately kept him away from us and ultimately took him from us forever. Though we lived so far apart and though our spiritual philosophies differed in their tenets and practices I believe we were both traveling the same road. One that leads to harmony - in our lives and in our hearts. We miss you Johnny and love you always.

23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page