top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

The Black Hat


I was looking for a photo of my brother today and cracked up when I found this one. A Sunday picture circa 1968. My siblings and I posed on the front porch. I am guessing it was Easter because we didn’t pose for photos unless it was a holiday or a special occasion. I’m sure we were heading off to church because of the hats and gloves. We donned the hats and gloves every Sunday for church. They were stored in a box in a corner of my parent’s bedroom and it was always a free-for-all to grab a hat. Being the smallest sister, I always ended up with the black hat and I hated it. It used to have colored flowers on top but they had fallen off at some point. I remember the blue one with the white trim had a pretty light blue ribbon around the crown. It was too big for me and Ellen always wore that hat. The cream colored hat had a sprig of little pink flowers along the crown and the yellow hat had daisies. I never seemed to be able to beat Nancy and Sue to the hats so the boring black hat with the plain white ribbon band would always be sitting there dejectedly, waiting for me to begrudgingly jam it onto my head and pout my way to the station wagon.


36 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page