top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

Radha


Last April I painted this little painting and used some dried blooms from my dogwood tree. I was pleasantly surprised how well they absorbed watercolor paint and stood up to some acrylics as well. I had been feeling sorry for myself because of a lingering illness that was sapping my strength and my emotional health and so I was trying to find some small things to be grateful for. The small things turned out to be quite large though, things like Spring and sunshine; like breezes and my beautiful dogwood coming once again into bloom and shining it's glorious light upon the world. During a Moonshine Zoom, Effy asked if I had named my tree. I hadn't, and had never thought to, but decided I should. And so this beautiful tree is now named Radha (pronounced Row-ah). Derived from the Irish word Radharc (pronounced Ray-ark) meaning a beautiful view or a vision. Very fitting for this tree - it is a vision in all of the seasons. I've been getting a bit impatient though waiting for the Spring blooms. Radha is just starting to form its buds so it won't be long before the beautiful blossoms appear.


31 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page