top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

Listen for the Blossoming



I am feeling I am in a fallow period creatively for the past few months. Definitely feeling a little bit at a loss as to what to create but I’m OK with that. I know it is a natural part of the rhythm of things and I am trying to welcome the rest, and I’m making a conscious effort to embrace the possibilities this fallow period is offering me. I think it is why I have been drawn to creative challenges lately. I’ve been engaging in collage, slow stitch, and junk journaling weekly challenges. They keep me inspired and showing up at my art table. I don’t have to think about what to create, I just follow the prompt, watch a video, and make a little something. Each time I do that I can hear the blossoming just a tiny bit more. The Fallow Way

I'll learn to love the fallow way When winter draws the valley down And stills the rivers in their storm And freezes all the little brooks

Time when our steps slow to the song Of falling flakes and crackling flames When silver stars are high and still Deep in the velvet of the sky


The crystal time the silent times I'll learn to love their quietness While deep beneath the glistening snow The black earth dreams of violets I'll learn to love the fallow times


I'll learn to love the fallow way When all my colors fade to white And flying birds fold back their wings Upon my anxious wanderings

The sun has slanted all her rays Across the vast and harvest plain My memories mingle in the dawn I dream of joyful vagabonds


The crystal times the silent times I'll learn to love their quietness When deep beneath the glistening snow The black earth dreams of violets I'll learn to love the fallow times


No drummer comes across the plain To tell of triumph or of pain No sound of far off battle's cry To draw me out or draw me nigh


I'll learn to love the fallow way And gather in the patient fruits And after autumn's blaze and burn I'll know the feel of still, deep roots

That nothing seem to do or need

That crack the ice in frozen ponds And slumbering in winter's folds Have dreams of green and blue and gold

I'll learn to love the fallow way And listen for the blossoming Of my own heart once more in spring


As sure as time, as sure as snow As sure as moonlight, and of stars The fallow time will fall away The sun will bring an April day And I will yield to Summer's way


Judy Collins & Jonas Fjeld







36 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page