top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Dixon

Artfully Wild Blog Along

Updated: Apr 3, 2021


It has been so long since I've blogged, at least fifteen years! I used to record lots of childhood memories that I didn't want to forget. Problem is I never saved any of those stories I wrote to myself. I don't even remember what blogging platform I used. But what to blog about this go around? I really have no idea.


I know I'm not alone in feeling restless and unsettled in our Covid world. Home has a different meaning for me now. I clean the house, I do the laundry, I fill the fridge, I dust. I vacuum, I prepare meals, I pay bills, I bathe the dog. I paint, I collage, I putter, I organize. I feed my loved ones, figuratively and literally and they do their best to feed me too. Add in a healthy dose of panic and terror every few days and there you have it. Life as we know it right now. Restless and unsettled. Like when you schedule a repair and they give you an arrival window of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. You just can't concentrate because you know at any second, they could arrive. So you wander the house all day picking up things here and setting them down there. Interspersed with random snippets of cleaning and putting things away. Not really accomplishing anything because of course you know the second you start to get in a groove, then that will be the exact moment the knock will sound on the door. And so it goes. I don't feel sad, I don't feel bored. I'm just here. Restless and unsettled. It's strange. But spring is finally springing. I can feel a change not just in the air and the season but in my breath and in my bones. A rumbling that feels welcome, not ominous. I've been looking for beauty around me again. Today it was my beloved mourning doves nesting on the porch. Perhaps this month will be devoted to noticing and capturing those moments of ordinary beauty.






20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page